So now I need 100 followers to earn my $0.48 a year.

Jaspreet Kaur
2 min readAug 20, 2021

Dear Medium,

I started writing on Medium because there is a lot that goes on the top floor of this building(my brain) that I couldn’t express otherwise/elsewhere, and the icing on the cake was you paid for it without making me jump through hoops. I felt like standup comedians who get paid even when nobody laughs at their jokes. Do you know how much I earned in the last year? Take your wildest guess. ………a whopping $0.48, granted that I only wrote 2–3 articles but I was happy just with the fact that I had another income stream at my disposal and I didn’t have to be someone or do something extraordinary to be even eligible for it. All I had to do was speak my mind which, trust me, doesn’t shut up.

I was happy with my $0.48, you know, I was happy! The first time I saw that I have earned $0.10 from Medium, trust me I would have shouted from my rooftops if only German houses had an accessible rooftop. But now due to your recent policy change, I have this pressure on me to get at least 100 followers by the end of the year or you will stop my income stream of $0.48 a year. Who do you think I am? Jesus?! You were my only hope to quit this corporate rat race. I was hoping by the time I retire I would at least earn enough to sustain myself. #TheStruggleIsReal

--

--